Angola aiming for the quarters yet again

The Pelancas Negras of Angola have been drawn in a tough group against hosts and 1996 champions, Morocco also previous winners and Cape Verde. Angola’s best performances at the Afcon all came recently in 2008 and 2010 respectively. Both times they were stopped at the q/final stage.
They secured qualification for this edition on away goals after a 3-3 draw with Zimbabwe. The Angolans lost the first leg 3-1 at Harare with midfielder Djalma Campos scoring the crucial away goal. Talisman Manucho scored twice in Luanda to secure qualification. The 6ft 3in former Manchester united forward is undoubtedly their key player. He has scored 21 goals in 38 games for his country and has so far scored 6 goals in 13 games for his club Real Valladolid this season. His strike rate is impressive and Angola’s qualification hopes will be pinned mostly on him and of course the always Impressive Djalma Campos.
Coach Gustavo Perrin took over from Lito Vidigals after the latter oversaw a not too impressive qualification campaign. The Uruguayan Born Ferrin is a renowned tactician and has worked mostly with Uruguay’s U-16 and U-20 sides as well as a stint with Peru’s U-16 team. His team selection for Angola is a reflection on his reliance on youth but he also has some experience heads to call on in the team. Angola have a good team spirit about them and they play the continental style of football and the team will surely be a beauty to behold in this year’s Afcon. If that is enough to take them to yet another quarter final is a different matter entirely. They kick of their campaign against Morocco with Adel Taraabt

and co on Saturday January 19th in Johannesburg.

Angola’s team for the AFCON :Goalkeepers: Lamas (Petro Atletico), Landu (Recreativo Libolo), Neblu (Primeiro Agosto)

Defenders: Amaro, Bastos (Primeiro Agosto), Dani Massunguna (Primeiro Agosto), Fabricio (InterClube), Lunguinha (Kabuscorp), Marco Airosa (AEL Limassol), Mingo Bille, Pirolito (both InterClube), Zuela (Apoel Nicosia)

Midfielders: Dede, Gilberto (both AEL Limassol), Manucho Dinis (Primeiro Agosto), Manuel (AS Aviacao), Miguel (Petro Atletico)

Forwards: Djalma (Kasimpassa), Geraldo (Parana), Guilherme Afonso (FC Vaduz), Mauncho (Real Valladolid), Mateus (Nacional), Yano (Progresso Sambizanga)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s